Jason Burns / jasonburns.co.uk
Available - taking new work Contact

I checked 18 AI visibility tools' pricing pages in one day

Verified July 2026 pricing for 18 AI visibility and GEO tools, with the full dataset. Four vendors changed product this year, one publishes two different prices for the same thing, and one is a parked domain for sale.

Key takeaways

  • The advertised price is almost never the working price. Otterly's $29 tier excludes three engines that cost $47 a month to add. Profound's $99 tier tracks ChatGPT and nothing else. Positive Surfer's $49 tier tracks zero AI prompts.
  • Four vendors changed materially in 2026: Semrush retired its standalone AI Toolkit and completed its Adobe acquisition, HubSpot renamed its grader, Surfer became Positive Surfer, and SE Ranking renamed its tracker and spun out a second product. Most comparison pages have not noticed.
  • You are paying for engine coverage, not prompt volume. Claude is the single most gated engine in the category. Ahrefs does not offer it at any price.
  • Three vendors cannot be priced from their own websites. Ahrefs publishes two contradictory figures on two live pages, BrandLight has no pricing page at all, and Rankability names only one of the AI engines it tracks.

I spent a day opening the live pricing page of every AI visibility tool I could find, 18 of them, and writing down what it actually said. Not what a comparison post said. Not what the vendor said last year. What the page said on 20 July 2026.

Most published comparisons of these tools are wrong, and not by a little. The full dataset is below, along with the four vendors who changed product this year and the three whose own websites cannot be used to work out a price.

A wall of identical rack-mounted servers where only a handful show lit status indicators

The full dataset#

Everything verified against the vendor's live pricing page on 20 July 2026. Prices in US dollars unless stated, because that is how the vendors list them.

ToolEntry priceWhat that buysEngines at entryFree trial
Texavor$11/mo1,100 AI creditsNot a trackerFree tier, 350 credits
Rankscale AI$20/moEssentials, hidden in the compare table10, same on every tierYes, terms not stated
Otterly.AI$29/mo15 prompts4, plus 3 paid add-onsYes, terms not stated
Frase$39/mo50 tracked prompts27 days, no card
Geordy.ai$39/mo500 file updatesNot a trackerFree tier, 40 updates
Positive Surfer$49/mo10 pages, zero AI prompts0Yes, terms not stated
HubSpot AEO$50/moPaid tier; the grader is free3Yes, plus free grader
AIClicks$59/mo30 prompts3 of 93 days, no card
NightwatchEUR 79/mo50 AI prompts, 500 keywords614 days, no card
SE Ranking$89/mo add-on200 prompts, plus Core at $129514 days, no card
Peec AI$95/mo50 prompts, 1 country3 of 6Yes, terms not stated
Profound$99/mo50 prompts, 1,500 responses1Partial, terms not stated
Rankability$99/mo10,000 creditsNot publishedNot stated
Semrush$117.33/moSEO plan; $165.17 adds prompt tracking67 days, plus free tier
Ahrefs Brand Radar$199 to $699/moAdd-on, metered in checks7None
Scrunch AI$250/mo125 prompts, 5 site audits47 days, self-serve
Goodie$399/mo100 prompts, 3,000 responses3Yes, 30-day refund
BrandLightNot publishedNot statedNot statedNone, demo only

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

Sorted by entry price. Note how little that column tells you: the $11 and $39 rows are not trackers at all, and the $49 row tracks nothing. Every tool name links to the pricing page I read, so you can check my working.

The advertised price is rarely the price#

Working price below means the cheapest tier that tracks roughly 50 prompts across four or more engines, including any add-ons needed to get there.

Otterly.AI 2.6x
Advertised
$29
Working
$76
15 prompts, 7 engines, once you add Gemini, AI Mode and Claude
Positive Surfer 3.7x
Advertised
$49
Working
$182
50 prompts, 5 engines, daily refresh. The $49 tier tracks no AI prompts
AIClicks 3.2x
Advertised
$59
Working
$189
150 prompts, 4 of 9 engines
SE Ranking 2.4x
Advertised
$89
Working
$218
200 prompts, 5 engines. The add-on needs a Core plan underneath it
Peec AI 1.4x
Advertised
$95
Working
$130
50 prompts, 4 engines. Each engine past three is a separate charge
Profound 4x
Advertised
$99
Working
$399
100 prompts, 3 engines. The $99 tier tracks ChatGPT alone
Advertised entry price Working price, 50 prompts and 4+ engines
Scrunch and Semrush are absent because their advertised and working prices are the same, at $250 and $165. That honesty is rarer than it should be.

The pattern is consistent enough to be a rule: the entry tier is limited by engines, not by prompts. Prompt counts are the number vendors print because it sounds generous. Engine coverage is what they actually charge for.

Which tools cover which engines#

ToolChatGPTAI OverviewsAI ModePerplexityGeminiClaudeCopilotGrok
RankscaleIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
SemrushIncludedIncludedNot offeredIncludedIncludedIncludedNot offeredIncluded
NightwatchIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedNot offeredNot offered
AhrefsIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedNot offeredIncludedIncluded
SE RankingIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedNot offeredNot offeredNot offered
AIClicksHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierHigher tier
Otterly.AIIncludedIncludedPaid add-onIncludedPaid add-onPaid add-onIncludedNot offered
Scrunch AIIncludedIncludedHigher tierIncludedHigher tierHigher tierIncludedHigher tier
Peec AIHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierNot offeredHigher tierNot offered
ProfoundIncludedHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierHigher tier
Positive SurferIncludedHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierHigher tierNot offeredNot offeredNot offered
RankabilityIncludedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published

Scroll the table sideways to see every engine.

Included at entry tier Needs a higher tier Chargeable add-on Not offered Not published
Read down the Claude column. That one engine narrows the market more than price does.

Claude is gated almost everywhere. Ahrefs does not offer it at any price. Peec reserves it for Enterprise. Profound and Scrunch put it behind their top tiers. Otterly charges $29 a month for it on the entry plan and $439 a month on Premium. Only Semrush and Rankscale include it without a fight.

If your buyers are developers or technical founders, people for whom Claude is the default assistant, that single column cuts your options from about ten to three.

The four changes nobody has updated for#

VendorWhat comparison pages still sayWhat is actually true
SemrushAI Toolkit sold as a priced add-onAdd-on retired. AI visibility is bundled into plans under Semrush One. The old URL is a hard 404. Adobe completed its acquisition on 28 April 2026, so Semrush is no longer independently listed.
HubSpotAI Search GraderRenamed AEO Grader. The old URL redirects.
SurferSurfer SEONow Positive Surfer, under Positive Group.
SE RankingAI Visibility TrackerRenamed AI Search Toolkit. A second standalone product, SE Visible, has been spun out alongside it.
Four renames, repackagings or acquisitions inside six months. If a page you are reading uses the left-hand names, it has not been checked this year.

Three pricing pages you cannot buy from#

Ahrefs publishes two different prices. The main pricing page says Brand Radar starts from $199 a month as an add-on. The Brand Radar product page says $398 for selected platforms and $699 for all of them. Both pages were live on the same day. Get a figure in writing before you commit.

BrandLight has no pricing page at all. The /pricing URL returns a 404 and does not appear in their sitemap. Every call to action is "get a demo". Its engine coverage is only visible in dashboard screenshots on the marketing site, never in a published claim.

Rankability tells you the money and not the function. Tiers run from 10,000 credits at $99 to 200,000 at $799. ChatGPT is the only AI engine named anywhere on the page, and there is no prompt-to-credit conversion published, so you cannot work out what 10,000 credits buys before you pay.

To be fair to all three, unpublished pricing is a legitimate choice for enterprise software. It just means those products cannot be compared on price with the self-serve ones, and any list that ranks them side by side is inventing the comparison.

Half the "GEO tools" market does not measure anything#

This surprised me more than the pricing did. Several products that appear consistently on best-GEO-tools lists do not track your AI visibility at all.

ToolPriceSold asActually doesMeasures visibility?
Texavor$11/moGEO toolContent research, briefs, scoring and publishing into WordPress or WebflowNo
Geordy.ai$39/moGEO toolGenerates llms.txt, JSON-LD and markdown versions of your pages; reads crawler logsNo
Frase$39/moContent OS for AI searchContent optimiser, with a genuine 50-prompt tracking module attachedPartly
Positive Surfer$49/moAI trackerContent optimisation. The entry tier tracks zero promptsNot at entry
All four are decent products answering a different question. Buying one expecting measurement is the most expensive mistake in this market, because you find out three months later that you still cannot tell whether anything worked.

There is one twist worth knowing. Frase's visibility module includes 50 tracked prompts on its $39 Starter plan, which undercuts every dedicated tracker at the same prompt count by a distance. It covers only ChatGPT and Google AI at that tier, so it is not a like-for-like replacement. But the cheapest way to track 50 prompts in this entire category is a tool that is not sold as a tracker.

Goodie is not where the lists say it is. Several pages cite goodie.ai. That domain is parked and listed for sale at $150,000. The product lives at higoodie.com and starts at $399 a month. Anyone citing goodie.ai did not open the link.

How to check this yourself in twenty minutes#

You do not need to audit 18 vendors. You need to check the two or three you are considering.

  1. Find the engine list before you find the price. If you cannot see which engines each tier covers, that tells you how the product is sold.
  2. Write down what the entry tier includes before you look at the money. Prompts, engines, refresh frequency, competitors tracked.
  3. Search the page for "add-on". That is where the real cost hides.
  4. Check refresh frequency. Weekly sampling of a signal that varies run to run is close to useless. Daily is the minimum worth paying for.
  5. Open the product page as well as the pricing page. They often disagree, and the product page is usually the more expensive truth.
  6. Write down the date you checked. In this category that is not pedantry.

What I would do with a budget#

If you have never measured, do not buy anything yet. Run a free check and sample ten prompts by hand. You are looking for whether you appear at all, not for a trend line. The HubSpot AEO Grader, SE Ranking's five free daily checks and the free checker on this site all cost nothing.

If you are ready to monitor, write your prompt list before you open a single pricing page. Not keywords, prompts: the questions a buyer types into ChatGPT before they know your name. Most businesses land between 20 and 40, and that number decides your tier more reliably than any feature comparison.

Then pick engines from where your buyers are, not from the vendor's list. For UK B2B that is mostly Google AI Overviews and ChatGPT. Paying an add-on for Meta AI coverage is a rounding error.

Why these pages go stale#

It is worth saying plainly why so much of this is wrong, because it is not laziness in the ordinary sense.

Tool comparison content is written once and monetised forever. There is no editorial trigger to re-check it, and much of it carries affiliate links, which creates a mild incentive to keep the recommendation stable rather than accurate. Meanwhile the vendors ship, rename, get acquired and repackage on a quarterly cycle.

The result is a genre that reads as authoritative and describes a market that no longer exists.

I cannot fix the incentive. What I can do is put the date on it. Everything above was true on 20 July 2026. Some of it will be wrong by October, and when it is, I would rather you knew which parts to distrust than assumed the whole thing still held.

The underlying comparisons, updated as vendors move, live in the AI visibility tools guide, the GEO tools guide and the AI search rank trackers guide.

Frequently asked

How much do AI visibility tools actually cost in 2026?
Verified in July 2026, entry prices run from $20 a month for Rankscale Essentials to $399 a month for Goodie Explorer, with BrandLight enterprise-only and unpriced. The more useful number is what it costs to track roughly 50 prompts across four or more engines, and that lands between $130 and $400 a month for most tools. Frase is the outlier at $39, because it is sold as a content tool rather than a tracker.
What is the cheapest AI visibility tool?
Rankscale advertises $20 a month, but that plan is not shown as a tier card and is only reachable through their comparison table. Otterly's $29 Lite plan is the cheapest openly sold option, though it covers 15 prompts and excludes Gemini, Google AI Mode and Claude. AIClicks at $59 is the cheapest tool whose entry tier tracks a usable prompt set with a choice of engines.
Why is AI visibility tool pricing so hard to compare?
Because vendors gate on different axes. Some limit prompts, some limit engines, some limit both, and some sell engines as individual add-ons. Two tools at the same monthly price can differ by a factor of five in what they actually track. Comparing headline prices alone tells you almost nothing.
Which AI visibility tools track Claude?
Claude is the most commonly gated engine in the category. Semrush includes it in plan pricing and Rankscale includes it on every tier. AIClicks has it in its nine-engine pool. Otterly sells it as an add-on from $29 a month. Profound, Scrunch and Peec reserve it for enterprise tiers. Ahrefs Brand Radar does not offer Claude at any price.
Do UK buyers pay more for these tools?
Every tool in this audit except Nightwatch prices in US dollars, so UK buyers carry the exchange rate and any card conversion fee on top of the listed figure. Nightwatch prices in euros. Check whether VAT is added at checkout before committing to an annual plan.
How often does this pricing change?
Faster than most comparison pages update. Four of the 18 tools changed name, owner or packaging inside six months. I would not trust any pricing comparison in this category that does not state the date it was checked, including this one after about a quarter.